My brother and me

I bet you’re just wanting to cringe right now, or take a pen and correct the title of this post right on your screen. I can hear people shrieking, “It’s supposed to be ‘my brother and *I*‘!!”

Well, no. And that’s an error that a lot of people make, partly because teachers have been hammering it home for years: you can’t say things like “My brother and me went to the mall.” You have to say “My brother and I.”

And yet both usages are correct, in certain circumstances. But how do you know the right circumstances, so you get it right every time? I could go into the grammar (because there is a grammatical explanation for both, subject versus object, blah blah blah), but I’ve got a method that’s much easier to remember.

Any time you would just say “me” if you were only talking about yourself — you still say “me” if you’re talking about yourself and someone else. And any time you’d say “I” instead, you say “I” when you add someone else to the sentence.

You’d never say, “Me went to the mall.” So you’d never say “My brother and me went to the mall.” In that case, “My brother and I” is the correct form.

Similarly, you’d never say, “She talked to I.” No, you’d say, “She talked to me.” So that means if your brother is there, it would be, “She talked to my brother and me.”

Isn’t that easy?

2 Comments

Filed under * Writing tips

2 responses to “My brother and me

  1. Actually, what I wanted to correct was the tag “correct grammer.”

  2. Thank you so much for mentioning that! I can’t believe I missed it. Gah! Rushing to change it right away. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

